Comparisons

Standard

I have spent most of latter teenage years and my early 20’s (omg that makes me sound so old) comparing myself to other women/young ladies. Looks, how alluring am I to guys, my intelligence… essentially everything. When I do go out, I always feel like the forgotten one in the room (I may do that to myself because of my lack of confidence); like I’m hideous beyond belief, so I just stand quietly wherever I am. Guys hardly ever approach me… ever. It lends me to not even approach guys because I can guarantee how they are going to react. I tried fishing for compliments (hey hasn’t every girl) and guess what… That feeling was fleeting at best. Tried long hair, short hair, natural hair, losing weight, changing my personality, wearing different clothing… Nothing worked. It’s taking much longer than I’d like to end the comparisons. I’m beginning to think it is because of my method of eradicating them. 

Leave a comment